Donations made to the overall trip will be designated as unallocated funds, meaning they have not been assigned to any particular team member. These funds may be added to any participant's account manually by the trip's administrator or be used at the organization's discretion.
Follow the steps below to manually add unallocated trip funds to a participant's account:
Access the Trip You Wish to Manage
From the My Trips page, select the trip for which you wish to manage unallocated funds.
From the Trip's page, select Funding to see the list of unallocated funds.
Assign Funds to Team Member
Select the donation you want to assign to a team member and a drop down menu option will appear.
You have the following menu options; Notes, Remove Donation, Issue a Refund, Transfer Funds, Audit log and Donator Info
The Notes Menu option refers to what was written in the Notes Field when an offline donation was added to Focus Missions. If there is a note then a (1) will appear next to "Notes" and if there is not a note, then 0 will appear. To view the note, simply role over the Notes Menu and the blue box will show the note copy, who entered the transaction, and the date the transaction was entered.
If you wish to remove the Allocation, click on "Remove Donation" and a pop-up menu will appear. If the transaction was an offline donation (cash, check or other custom allocation) you will be given the option to remove the entire donation or part of it. Select "Remove total amount" or click the checkbox next to "Issue a partial remove" and enter the amount to want to remove. When you are done click "Remove Allocation".
If the Allocation was made via credit card as an online donation you will see a red warning that this will remove the donation but NOT REFUND the donation. If you want to return the donation click "Issue a Refund". If you want to move the donation click "Transfer Funds". Please note if you remove a donation you will not be able to undo this function.
Issue a Refund
If the donation was made online, you may want to refund part or all of the donation. Click on "Refund a Payment" and a pop-up menu will appear. You will have the option to remove the total donation amount or only issue a partial donation. When you are done, click on "Yes, Refund Payment"
If you click on "Refund a Payment" and it was not an online donation, you will see a blue message box alerting you that you cannot refund an offline donation and to use the "Remove Donation" donation option.
You may transfer Unallocated Funds to any participant on the trip, to another trip as a unallocated donation or to another participant on another trip. Click on "Transfer Funds". Select the option you want and follow the instructions on the screen.
For example, we are going to transfer part of the donation to another team. Select the trip you want to move the donation to, the amount you want to move, and then click "Yes, Transfer Funds".
Your funding screen will appear and reflect the change you made. In this example the donation amount is now lowered from $50 to $25 and has a (1) to indicate that the value had changed.
An Audit Log is the history of the donation and any changes that may have been made either by removing, refunding, or transferring the donation. In the example below, you can see who made the original donation, what action was taken, and where the money went. In this case, it was moved to a participant on the trip. The Participant will see this donation with the original donor name in their Participant Dashboard.
For both online and offline donations, the "Donator Info" will show a pop-up providing the donor name, phone number and email address of the donor.
Other Allocation Process
The process detailed in this support document is for Unallocated Donation made after December 1, 2019. For information on the Unallocated Donation Process for donations made before December 1, 2019, please visit our support document titled "Allocating Unassigned Trip Funds to a Team Member's Account"
Also note that the menu options and process for the older donations will not be the same as this document is for an upgrade menu option that provides additional data that was not collected for donations prior to December 1, 2019.